8 comments on “Fixing ‘No Sound’ Issues After Updating Ubuntu 10.04

  1. OMFG,Thanks!
    I just installed Ubuntu 10.04 on my computer.(Got the wubi 10.04 download:P)
    And it doesn’t have any sound untill I tried the code that you gave!!

    THANKS A TON!

  2. I received this error when following your directions to fix my no sound issue “E: Couldn’t find package linux-alsa-driver-modules-2.6.32-40-generic” what must I do now?

    • It sounds like the people at https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Audio/InstallingLinuxAlsaDriverModules have not kept up with the current kernel (2.6.32-40), and thus, no alsa driver right now. The fix worked back in 2.6.32-31 but no longer. You can try to install a previous version with the command (I make no promises :)

      sudo apt-get install linux-alsa-driver-modules-2.6.32-31-generic

      but in all honesty, you will probably have better luck using an earlier version of the kernel until the sound issue is fixed.

Leave a Reply

